RANTIN

Rantin

The National Theatre of Scotland in association with The Arches presents

Rantin

By Kieran Hurley

Fri 24 - Sat 25 Jan 2014 | 7.30pm (1 hour 30 mins) | Preview (24th): £9 | Performance (25th): £12/£10

By Kieran Hurley. Created with Liam Hurley, Gav Prentice, Julia Taudevin and Drew Wright.

A retired American steps off the plane at Prestwick, hoping to discover the land of his fathers.
A beleaguered politician in Edinburgh dips her feet into a hot bath.
An old drunk man in Peterhead has a mystical vision at the harbour.
A supermarket checkout girl in Port Glasgow approaches work with a golf club…

Set specifically in the town of each performance and drawing on storytelling, live music and the Scottish folk tradition, Rantin’ attempts to stitch together visions of Scotland’s romantic past with its ever-changing present reality, revealing the patchwork identity of a nation.

Originally presented as part of the Auteurs project, a collaboration between National Theatre of Scotland and The Arches, and Behaviour 2013 with support from the Esmée Fairbairn Foundation, Rantin is part cosy living room gathering, part play, part gig session.

“…this gorgeous piece of ceilidh-theatre, where music swirls engagingly, is taut, nuanced and illuminating”
The Herald

 

Full tour listings________________

Ayr College, South Ayrshire
Monday 3 February at 7.30pm
£10/£8
Tickets: 01292 28235 | www.ayrgaiety.co.uk

Town House, Hamilton
Tuesday 4 February at 7.30pm
£9/£7
Tickets: 01698 452299 | www.sllcboxoffice.co.uk

Summerhall, Edinburgh
Thursday 6 February at 7.30pm
£12/10
Tickets: 0845 874 3001 | www.summerhall.co.uk

Methil Community Education Centre, Leven, Fife
Friday 7 February at 7.30pm
£8/£6
Tickets: 01592 583302 | www.onfife.com

Birnam Institute, Perthshire
Saturday 8 February 2014 at 7.30pm
£12/10
Tickets: 01738 621031 | www.horsecross.co.uk

Woodend Barn, Banchory, Aberdeenshire
Tuesday 11 February at 7.30pm
£10/£8
Tickets: 01330 825431 | www.woodendbarn.com

The Warehouse, Lossiemouth
Wednesday 12 February at 7.30pm
£10/£8
Tickets: 01343 814004 | www.thewarehousetheatre.co.uk

Assembly Rooms, Wick, Caithnesss and Sutherland
Thursday 13 February at 7.30pm
£8/£6
Tickets: 01955 602211 | Flower Patch

Kirkwall Town Hall, Orkney
Saturday 15 February at 7.30pm
£10/ £8
Tickets: 018560 872239 | Gooves Record Shop

Mill Theatre, Thurso, Caithness
Tuesday 18 February at 7.30pm
£8/£6
Tickets: 01847 894698

Tongue Village Hall, Sutherland
Wednesday 19 February at 7.30pm
£8/ £6
Tickets: 01847 611201 | Tongue Post Office

Durness Village Hall, Sutherland
Friday 21 February 2014 at 7.30pm
£8/ £6
Tickets: 01971 511346

Ullapool Village Hall, Ross-shire
Saturday 22 February at 7.30pm
£10/£8
Tickets: 01854 612103 | The Ceilidh Place

Mull Theatre, Drumfuin, Tobermory
Tuesday 25 February at 8pm
£9/£6
Tickets: 01688 302828 | www.mulltheatre.com

Corran Hall, Oban, Argyll and Bute
Thursday 27 February at 7.30pm
£10/£8
Tickets: 01631 567333 | www.argyll-bute.gov.uk

Paisley Museum, Renfrewshire
Saturday 1 March at 7.30pm
£10/£6
Tickets: 0300 300 1210 | www.renfrewshire.gov.uk/onlinebooking